Categories
Books Reviews

The Girl Who Talks to Ashes

Blurb: Fifteen-year-old Willow is terrified of her new baby, Lilah, who has a peculiar form of epilepsy. Every time Lilah’s eyes glaze over, terrible things happen: flowers shrivel, food goes to rot – even Willow’s long, auburn hair turns stark white. But it’s the death of the family cat that becomes the last straw; in […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Threads of Awakening

Blurb: What if you set out to travel the world and got sidetracked in a Himalayan sewing workshop? What if that sidetrack turned out to be your life’s path–your way home? Part art book, part memoir, part spiritual travelogue, Threads of Awakening is a delightful and inspiring blend of adventure and introspection. Leslie Rinchen-Wongmo shares her experience […]

Categories
Books Reviews

How to read a book

Blurb: An award-winning novelist reveals the books that have captivated her and the influence they have had on her life and writing. Highlighting a true love affair with books, this story emphasizes the transformative power of the written word. Thoughts: I wanted to get a less serious (or maybe a writer’s) perspective of how to […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Finding Karen Black

Blurb: Finding Karen Black takes you into the heart of the adoption experience with a celebrity twist. In 1959, Karen Black gave up a newborn daughter for adoption. While Karen pursued a career in acting that took her from New York to Hollywood, her child Diane Bay grew up in a suburban neighborhood near Chicago. For five […]

Categories
Books Reviews

From the Flood

Blurb: It’s the summer of 1972, when six-year-old Suzanne Jones and her siblings are whisked away from their home in the middle of the night, never to return again. Hurricane Agnes has triggered a devastating flood that destroys the family home and business. Suzie and her family are then set on an exhausting yet exhilarating four-year journey […]

Categories
Books Reviews

The Backpack Years

Blurb: Part travel, part romance, part failing at life, The Backpack Years intertwines two memoirs, charting Stef and James’s six-year journey from happily wandering to miserably settled and back again. Straight-laced Stef left America to study abroad in Spain, letting loose and falling head over heels for two things: a handsome local and travel. Travel won […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Mountain Song

Blurb: In the vein of Nan Shepherd’s The Living Mountain and Mary Oliver’s gentle writing on nature, Mountain Song is a love letter to adventure, slowing down, and quietly noticing the beauty of wild places and our place within them. “Here in the silence and surrounded by mountains, I’m starting to find my answers, at […]

Categories
Books Reviews

A Thousand Reasons Not To Run

Blurb: Traumatized by a childhood tragedy and her ongoing therapy no longer effective, Lexi lives a lonely life in Tribune, a small town nestled on a bayou in the southern United States. Her therapist offers an ultimatum: find friends or find another therapist. Lexi reluctantly joins a running program that meets at the Volt, an […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Creating Clarity & Connection

Blurb: Reimagine Your Life in a Positive and Purposeful Way. Creating Clarity & Connection provides life-affirming practices to bring meaning to your self-discovery journey. Whether you are just starting, restarting, or reviving your efforts to reconsider your life, you can: Rediscover the things that make you happy, Reclaim your sense of wholeness, Reframe your life […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Road To Mekong

Blurb: For fifty-six days, four women left their ‘regular lives’, homes, families and comfort, to ride their motorbikes through scenic landscapes, inhospitable terrain and diverse regions. In this process, they covered 17,000 kilometres through six countries. What inspired them to follow this dangerous, and at times maddening, adventure trail? In Road to Mekong, Piya Bahadur recounts her […]