Categories
Books Reviews

The Backpack Years

Blurb: Part travel, part romance, part failing at life, The Backpack Years intertwines two memoirs, charting Stef and James’s six-year journey from happily wandering to miserably settled and back again. Straight-laced Stef left America to study abroad in Spain, letting loose and falling head over heels for two things: a handsome local and travel. Travel won […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Mountain Song

Blurb: In the vein of Nan Shepherd’s The Living Mountain and Mary Oliver’s gentle writing on nature, Mountain Song is a love letter to adventure, slowing down, and quietly noticing the beauty of wild places and our place within them. “Here in the silence and surrounded by mountains, I’m starting to find my answers, at […]

Categories
Books Reviews

A Thousand Reasons Not To Run

Blurb: Traumatized by a childhood tragedy and her ongoing therapy no longer effective, Lexi lives a lonely life in Tribune, a small town nestled on a bayou in the southern United States. Her therapist offers an ultimatum: find friends or find another therapist. Lexi reluctantly joins a running program that meets at the Volt, an […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Creating Clarity & Connection

Blurb: Reimagine Your Life in a Positive and Purposeful Way. Creating Clarity & Connection provides life-affirming practices to bring meaning to your self-discovery journey. Whether you are just starting, restarting, or reviving your efforts to reconsider your life, you can: Rediscover the things that make you happy, Reclaim your sense of wholeness, Reframe your life […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Road To Mekong

Blurb: For fifty-six days, four women left their ‘regular lives’, homes, families and comfort, to ride their motorbikes through scenic landscapes, inhospitable terrain and diverse regions. In this process, they covered 17,000 kilometres through six countries. What inspired them to follow this dangerous, and at times maddening, adventure trail? In Road to Mekong, Piya Bahadur recounts her […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Summer of Georgie

Blurb: Deep into her 40s with a lackluster career, Georgie wonders how she became so…underwhelming. If she’s not battling her micromanaging boss and egotistical CEO, she’s trying to quiet her inner voice, the one whispering that she hasn’t lived up to the cool, funny and creative person she used to be. When she’s fired for […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Chance Particulars

Blurb: The goal of the writer is to live with the keenness of the foreigner. To experience, wide-eyed, the sensations aroused and the events offered up by a peculiar surround and then to evoke them so brightly on the page that the reader, too, experiences the foreigner’s frisson. A time-honored way this is accomplished is […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Winter Stars

Blurb: Dave Iverson was a busy broadcast journalist recently diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease when he decided to do something he’d never quite imagined: He moved in to take care of his 95-year-old mom. Winter Stars is the moving story of their ten-year caregiving journey. By the end of this decade, 74 million Americans will be over […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Wild

Blurb: At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike […]

Categories
Books Reviews

The Reading List

Blurb: An unforgettable and heartwarming debut about how a chance encounter with a list of library books helps forge an unlikely friendship between two very different people in a London suburb. Widower Mukesh lives a quiet life in the London Borough of Ealing after losing his beloved wife. He shops every Wednesday, goes to Temple, […]