Categories
Books Reviews

Threads of Awakening

Blurb: What if you set out to travel the world and got sidetracked in a Himalayan sewing workshop? What if that sidetrack turned out to be your life’s path–your way home? Part art book, part memoir, part spiritual travelogue, Threads of Awakening is a delightful and inspiring blend of adventure and introspection. Leslie Rinchen-Wongmo shares her experience […]

Categories
Books Reviews

How to read a book

Blurb: An award-winning novelist reveals the books that have captivated her and the influence they have had on her life and writing. Highlighting a true love affair with books, this story emphasizes the transformative power of the written word. Thoughts: I wanted to get a less serious (or maybe a writer’s) perspective of how to […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Finding Karen Black

Blurb: Finding Karen Black takes you into the heart of the adoption experience with a celebrity twist. In 1959, Karen Black gave up a newborn daughter for adoption. While Karen pursued a career in acting that took her from New York to Hollywood, her child Diane Bay grew up in a suburban neighborhood near Chicago. For five […]

Categories
Books Reviews

From the Flood

Blurb: It’s the summer of 1972, when six-year-old Suzanne Jones and her siblings are whisked away from their home in the middle of the night, never to return again. Hurricane Agnes has triggered a devastating flood that destroys the family home and business. Suzie and her family are then set on an exhausting yet exhilarating four-year journey […]

Categories
Books Reviews

The Backpack Years

Blurb: Part travel, part romance, part failing at life, The Backpack Years intertwines two memoirs, charting Stef and James’s six-year journey from happily wandering to miserably settled and back again. Straight-laced Stef left America to study abroad in Spain, letting loose and falling head over heels for two things: a handsome local and travel. Travel won […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Mountain Song

Blurb: In the vein of Nan Shepherd’s The Living Mountain and Mary Oliver’s gentle writing on nature, Mountain Song is a love letter to adventure, slowing down, and quietly noticing the beauty of wild places and our place within them. “Here in the silence and surrounded by mountains, I’m starting to find my answers, at […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Creating Clarity & Connection

Blurb: Reimagine Your Life in a Positive and Purposeful Way. Creating Clarity & Connection provides life-affirming practices to bring meaning to your self-discovery journey. Whether you are just starting, restarting, or reviving your efforts to reconsider your life, you can: Rediscover the things that make you happy, Reclaim your sense of wholeness, Reframe your life […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Road To Mekong

Blurb: For fifty-six days, four women left their ‘regular lives’, homes, families and comfort, to ride their motorbikes through scenic landscapes, inhospitable terrain and diverse regions. In this process, they covered 17,000 kilometres through six countries. What inspired them to follow this dangerous, and at times maddening, adventure trail? In Road to Mekong, Piya Bahadur recounts her […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Chance Particulars

Blurb: The goal of the writer is to live with the keenness of the foreigner. To experience, wide-eyed, the sensations aroused and the events offered up by a peculiar surround and then to evoke them so brightly on the page that the reader, too, experiences the foreigner’s frisson. A time-honored way this is accomplished is […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Winter Stars

Blurb: Dave Iverson was a busy broadcast journalist recently diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease when he decided to do something he’d never quite imagined: He moved in to take care of his 95-year-old mom. Winter Stars is the moving story of their ten-year caregiving journey. By the end of this decade, 74 million Americans will be over […]