Categories
Books Reviews

The Backpack Years

Blurb: Part travel, part romance, part failing at life, The Backpack Years intertwines two memoirs, charting Stef and James’s six-year journey from happily wandering to miserably settled and back again. Straight-laced Stef left America to study abroad in Spain, letting loose and falling head over heels for two things: a handsome local and travel. Travel won […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Mountain Song

Blurb: In the vein of Nan Shepherd’s The Living Mountain and Mary Oliver’s gentle writing on nature, Mountain Song is a love letter to adventure, slowing down, and quietly noticing the beauty of wild places and our place within them. “Here in the silence and surrounded by mountains, I’m starting to find my answers, at […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Road To Mekong

Blurb: For fifty-six days, four women left their ‘regular lives’, homes, families and comfort, to ride their motorbikes through scenic landscapes, inhospitable terrain and diverse regions. In this process, they covered 17,000 kilometres through six countries. What inspired them to follow this dangerous, and at times maddening, adventure trail? In Road to Mekong, Piya Bahadur recounts her […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Wild

Blurb: At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike […]

Categories
Books Reviews

The Cat with Three Passports

Blurb: A girl struggling to fit in. A homeless kitten. An unexpected job offer in an unfamiliar country that changes everything.C.J. Fentiman had a long history of escaping places and people she wasn’t fond of. But for the sake of a silver tabby, she decided to stay in Japan for a while. This decision helped her […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Kong Boys

Blurb: Seven friends. Beers, bets, and bull runs. What can go wrong? The enduring power of friendship disguised as a booze-soaked, contemplative travelogue. In summer 2006, twenty-year-old Gerald Yeung and his childhood friends from Hong Kong travel to South America and Africa on their parents’ dime. Confronted by challenges foreign to their privileged upbringing, the “Wannabe Backpackers” […]

Categories
Books Reviews

No True Love in Tehran

Blurb:Would you travel to Iran? In 2010, a schoolteacher from Minneapolis accepted an invitation from an Iranian friend to travel to the Islamic Republic of Iran, a place labeled evil by the US government. Iran is a snake with many heads, his friend had told him on the night they first met. The mask is […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Off the Beaten Track across Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia

Blurb:Three things happened simultaneously. The lioness charged, Alistair fled across the parched savannah and his wife screamed for him to run faster. Stuffed deep inside his tattered rucksack was a guidebook containing advice on what to do in wildlife emergencies, which he planned to read if he survived the next thirty seconds. Future plans to […]

Categories
Books Reviews

Where the Light Begins

Blurb: In Where the Light Begins: A Seeker’s Journey for Truth, Freedom and a Place to Call Home, Cristy Elmendorp shares an intimate account of her extraordinary life journey. The daughter of a missionary who once belonged to a controversial Christian cult called “The Children of God”, her father would often tell her that she […]

Categories
Books Reviews

You Had Me at Bonjour

Summary: Jessica decides to take a gap year in the south of France after her husband Ben leaves her for another woman, Samantha. It is her way of coping with her divorce and loss of her job. Although she is miserable in the beginning, she gradually gathers courage to meet people and make friends. She […]